Controlling System-Related Contaminants in PFAS Analysis Using LC-MS

Webcasts

Monday, September 20, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT| 4pm BST | 5pm CEST Learn how system-related PFAS contamination might hamper your LC–MS analysis and discover solutions to overcome this issue.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/contaminants

Event Overview:

Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are included in the monitoring list of drinking water contaminants across the globe due to their potential negative impact on human health. Commonly, those compounds are monitored with LC–MS(/MS) based methods. Examples for such methods are EPA 533 and 537.1. One major issue with PFAS is that they are ubiquitously present and can interfere with analytical results. Potential sources of PFAS contamination include solvents, tubing, filters and many more. This webcast will be focused on strategies to overcome these limitations to ensure reliable PFAS quantitation.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand potential sources for system-related PFAS and discover solutions to reduce system-related contaminations
  • Understand how using the right consumables and solvents can provide sensitivity required to run standard methods of PFAS analysis
  • Review the LC–MS workflow used during standard PFAS analysis

Who Should Attend:

Researchers working in academia or industry which are currently analyzing PFAS or planning to do so in the future

Speakers

Sebastian Hickert
Manager Analytical and Preparative Liquid Chromatograpy Site Management Analytics
Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany

Sebastian Hickert obtained his PhD in food chemistry from the university of Münster where he isolated mycotoxins from fungal cultures and developed methods for their trace level quantitation. He joined Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany in 2017 as a Senior Scientist before moving on to managerial roles. His team works with liquid chromatography ((U)HPLC, SFC, TLC, SEC, IC and many more) hyphenated to various detection options. His group provides R&D support to all of Merck’s researchers, especially from the Life Science Business. Sebastian has experience with analysis of small molecules as well as polymers and biomolecules.

Olga Shimelis
Senior R&D Manager Advanced Sample Preparation
MilliporeSigma, Bellefonte, USA

Dr. Olga Shimelis has worked for MilliporeSigma in multiple R&D roles at the Bellefonte, PA, USA, site in the area of development of sample preparation products for chromatographic separations. Prior to that she was a Research Scientist at Northeastern University, Boston, MA, with focus on DNA extraction and identification and analysis of DNA adducts. Olga holds a PhD in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Oklahoma, USA.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/contaminants