Extraction of PFAS from Mixed Matrices Using A Rapid, Simple, and Automated Extraction System

Sponsored Content

Learn about the origins of PFAS chemicals in the world we live in and challenges facing laboratories analyzing PFAS. See how Dr. Alicia Stell and her team devised solutions for sample preparation of these difficult samples and present analytical results by liquid chromatography. Live: Thursday, Feb. 27, 2020 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET On demand available after final airing Feb. 27, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/mixed_matrices

Event Overview:

In recent months PFAS (per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances) has gained much media attention. PFAS are used in the manufacturing of a variety of products because of their oil, water, temperature, chemical, and fire resistance properties. Because of their chemical stability, these “forever chemicals” are used in products from non-stick cookware, to electronic devices, to low-emission automobiles. As these items are disposed of the PFAS pollute and accumulate in soils and water supplies. Humans exposure to these persistent chemicals, can lead to immune system effects, cancers, thyroid disruption, and other ailments.

Remediation of PFAS is largely not possible so accurate analysis of PFAS is critical to public safety. In the laboratory, PFAS analysis is difficult because PFAS-free componentry is essential for accurate analysis. Everything from sample-homogenizing equipment to extraction systems to liquid chromatography systems needs to be PFAS-free. In this webcast we will discuss homogenization and extraction protocols for a variety of matrices to optimize recovery. We will also discuss LC methods and results of these studies.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Better understand PFAS analytical challenges

  • Explore homogenization and extraction methods for PFAS

  • Compare liquid chromatographic analysis of different PFAS-containing matrices

Speaker: Alicia Douglas Stell, PhD, Lead R&D Scientist, Molecular Sample Preparation Division, CEM Corporation

Time and Date: Thursday, Feb. 27, 2020 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing Feb. 27, 2021

Sponsor: CEM

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/mixed_matrices