Joshua Sharp Receives 2023 Ron Hites Award

Joshua Sharp, University of Mississippi

Joshua Sharp, University of Mississippi

Joshua Sharp of the University of Mississippi, along with his co-authors, Emily E. Chea, Sandeep K. Misra, Ron Orlando, Marla Popov, Robert W. Egan, David Holman, and Scot R. Weinberger are this year’s recipients of the ASMS Ron Hites Award. Sharp will receive the award at the 2023 ASMS Conference in Houston, Texas, which takes place June 4–8. Sharp will receive a cash award of $2,000 and an official plaque, and all authors will be acknowledged with certificates of commendation.

The Ron Hites Award recognizes annually an exemplary publication of original research published in the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (JASMS). The award is named in honor of Professor Ron Hites of Indiana University, who led the creation of JASMS in 1988 while serving as president of ASMS.

The winning manuscript is selected by a confidential committee. The selection of the winning article is based on the committee's judgement of each paper’s innovative aspects, technical quality, likely stimulation of future research, likely impact on future applications, and quality of presentation. Manuscript citations and impact factor are also considered but were not the major determinants of selection.

Sharp’s paper, titled “Flash Oxidation (FOX) System: A Novel Laser-Free Fast Photochemical Oxidation Protein Footprinting Platform”, discusses how the FOX protein footprinting system that he and his colleagues created allows for experiments similar to the fast photochemical oxidation of proteins “in a safe, compact, and integrated benchtop platform” (1).

You can read the award-winning paper here:


(1) Sharp, J. S.; Chea, E. E.; Misra, S. K.; Orlando, R.; Popov, M.; Egan, R. W.; Holman, D.; Weinberger, S. R. Flash Oxidation (FOX) System: A Novel Laser-Free Fast Photochemical Oxidation Protein Footprinting Platform. J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom. 202132 (7), 1601–1609. DOI: 10.1021/jasms.0c00471

Related Videos
Toby Astill | Image Credit: © Thermo Fisher Scientific
Robert Kennedy
John McLean | Image Credit: © Aaron Acevedo