Keeping Pace in a Busy Environmental Lab by Leveraging Emerging Analytical Techniques

Sponsored Content

If your lab is striving – yet sometimes struggling – to deliver high quality, reliable data amidst increases in environmental regulation and testing requirements, then attend this webcast to learn how to streamline some of the more cumbersome extraction processes. Live:Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Sept. 25, 2020. Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/pace

Event Overview:

As global environmental regulations increase in scope and required monitoring levels move ever lower, the workload in environmental labs also increases. This convergence places a greater burden on environmental labs to process more samples in less time while still maintaining high data quality. This webcast presents real examples from a commercial environmental lab and the steps the lab is taking to maximize automation through new or little-used technologies to improve productivity.  A major pain-point in environmental testing are manual and cumbersome extraction processes, such as bulk liquid–liquid extraction for semi-volatile organic compounds (sVOCs) analysis and solid phase extraction (SPE) for 1,4 dioxane analysis. EPA method 625 for sVOCs analysis in water was streamlined into a simple, small-volume supported liquid extraction (SLE) step combined with sensitive triple quadrupole GC–MS/MS resulting in reduced sample volume, faster sample processing times and lower sample injection. A method for 1,4-dioxane in water was also developed using automated solid phase microextraction (SPME) requiring less than 10 mL of sample and reduces sample preparation time from hours to minutes. Lastly, we will present a streamlined approach for the analysis of per and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from highly contaminated sites using both dilute-and-shoot as well as offline SPE techniques using LC–MS/MS.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How to streamline a multiclass semi-volatile organic compound (sVOCs) method using small-volume SLE and fast GC with MS/MS detection on a triple quadrupole mass spectrometer

  • How to achieve regulatory levels of detection for 1,4-dioxane using automated SPME and GC–MS with minimal sample prep and no additional extraction

  • Using the sensitivity of LC–MS/MS to screen samples for PFAS with a combination of a dilute-and-shoot approach and conventional offline SPE, and learn about the inherent challenges associated with PFAS analysis

Speaker: Agustin Pierri, Ph.D., Technical Director, Weck Laboratories

Time and date: Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Sept. 25, 2020.

Sponsor: Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/pace