Measuring volatile PFAS in air using Thermal Desorption Gas Chromatography Mass Spectrometry

Webcasts

**Tuesday, October 19, 2021 at 2pm EDT | 1pm CDT | 11am PDT** Data will be presented to demonstrate method performance and challenges of measuring PFAS in environmental vapor samples.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/desorption

Event Overview:

Over the past decade, per- and polyfluorinated alkyl substances (PFAS) have been detected in groundwater and soil at hundreds of military sites as well as a number of industrial sites, raising questions as to the potential migration of PFAS vapor concentrations from the subsurface into nearby buildings. In order to investigate the fate and transport of PFAS vapors in the environment, an analytical method using Thermal Desorption Gas Chromatography Tandem Mass Spectrometry has been developed to measure fluorotelomer alcohols and other volatile PFAS in soil vapor and indoor air. Data will be presented to demonstrate method performance and challenges of measuring PFAS in environmental vapor samples.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Optimizing vapor sample collection parameters for soil gas and indoor air
  • Assessing and minimizing PFAS artifacts in method blanks
  • Using Tandem Mass Spectrometry to optimize PFAS selectivity and sensitivity in complex environmental vapor samples

Who Should Attend:

  • Environmental practitioners and regulators evaluating PFAS impacts in the environment
  • Analytical R&D chemists interested in measuring vapor phase PFAS

Speakers

Heidi Hayes
Technical Director
Eurofins Air Toxics LLC

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/desorption