Robert Kennedy Receives 2023 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Analytical Chemistry

Robert Kennedy Receives 2023 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Analytical Chemistry

Published on: 

Kennedy is a professor at the University of Michigan.

Robert Kennedy, the Hobart H. Willard Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Michigan, has been named the winner of the 2023 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry. This award is presented in recognition of significant individual contributions in the advancement of analytical chemistry by superior work in developing theory, techniques, or instrumentation. The award was presented at a special symposium, arranged in honor of the awardee, at the 2023 Eastern Analytical Symposium on Monday, November 13, at 1:30 pm.

Kennedy earned a PhD at University of North Carolina in 1988 where his work focused on using open tubular liquid chromatography (LC) to analyze single cells. After a post-doctorate in neuroscience, he started his own research program at University of Florida in 1991 before moving to University of Michigan as the Hobart H. Willard Professor of Chemistry in 2002.

His research has combined his interest in biology with chemical analysis, separations, and microfluidics. A theme of his group has been development of new chemical analysis tools that can be used at the nanoscale for several applications including screening of drugs, engineering enzymes, monitoring neurotransmitters in the brain, and studying the secretion of insulin and other hormones. Key technical areas including ultra-high pressure liquid chromatography, droplet microfluidics, and mass spectrometry. His work has been recognized by several awards including the American Chemical Society Award in Chromatography, the Ralph Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry, and two NIH Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) awards. He has held several service posts including Department Chair and is presently an associate editor of Analytical Chemistry and ACS Measurement Science Au.


The program for the award ceremony is as follows:

  • “Small Separations and Big Data: Using Analytical Chemistry to Address the Challenges of Cancer Detection,” presented by Rebecca Whelan of the University of Kansas at 2 pm.
  • After a break at 2:30 pm, “Two-Dimensional Liquid Chromatography for Advanced Characterization of Industrial Polymers and Sustainable Materials,” presented by Peilin Yang of Dow Chemical Company, at 3 pm.
  • The symposium concludes with “Low-Cost, Open-Source Tools for Chemical Analysis,” presented by James Grinias of Rowan University (Glassboro, New Jersey), at 3:30 pm.