Understanding Polymer Properties with Multi-Angle Light Scattering

Webcast

*** Wednesday, May 12, 2021 at 11am EDT | 10am CDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST*** Multi-angle light scattering (MALS) detection, following an analytical separation technique such as SEC or FFF, can provide detailed information about the molecular structure and thus proper understanding of the properties and behavior of a wide range of polymers. Join us for this web seminar to learn how to apply MALS to polymer analysis. ***On demand available after final airing until May 12, 2022***

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/polymer

Event Overview:

Polymers, both of synthetic and natural origin, are an integral part of our everyday life. In contrast to low-molar-mass organic compounds, polymer samples of identical chemical composition can differ substantially by their application properties. Many important polymer properties are affected by the molar mass distribution and structural topology of the polymer chains. A multi-angle light scattering (MALS) detector following an analytical separation technique such as SEC or FFF, often in combination with an online viscometer, can provide detailed information about the molecular structure and thus proper understanding of the properties and behavior of a very wide range of polymers.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Separation principles of size-exclusion chromatography (SEC) and asymmetric-flow field-flow fractionation (FFF)
  • Theoretical background of MALS and online viscometry
  • Determination of molar mass distribution
  • Detection and quantification of branching
  • Case studies: light scattering for improvement of the efficiency of scar healing gels and enhancement of polymers for technical applications

Speaker: Prof. Stepan Podzimek, Scientific Consultant, Wyatt Technology

Time and Date: Wednesday, May 12, 2021 at 11am EDT | 10am CDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available until May 12, 2022.

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/polymer