Using the Right Tools for the Job: Innovative Approaches for Acrylamide Testing in Food and Water

June 11, 2020
Restek

Sponsored Content

Acrylamide has become an increasing concern, whether in our food or our water. Join Dr. Landon Wiest as he shares analytical and sample preparation approaches to simplify and speed up this critical analysis. Live: Thursday, Jun. 11, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing until Jun. 11, 2021

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/innovative_approaches

Event Overview:
Acrylamide is a contaminant that can be found in water and food. Acrylamide is formed in foods when substances containing asparagine and aldehyde sugars (e.g. glucose, fructose) are roasted, fried, or baked at temperatures above 120 °C. In drinking water, it is found when water sources have been treated with polyacrylamide as a flocculating agent. Many methods have been developed to determine the amount of acrylamide present in foods and water, but food and water often require different analytical approaches to be effective. It is important to choose the right tools for the job. Water analysis is often performed by direct, large volume injection, requiring a larger analytical column (150 x 3.0 mm), while food matrices, using QuEChERS or SPE sample prep, can use a smaller column dimension (50 x 2.1 mm). SPE-based methods usually result in a cleaner sample, but take a lot of time to prepare. Many methods, using carbon-based LC columns to quantify acrylamide, often suffer from irreproducibility and poor column lifetimes, resulting in longer turnaround times, less instrument uptime, and poor data quality. LC columns designed specifically for acrylamide analysis can address these pain points. The benefits of such columns will be discussed showing examples of acrylamide separation from matrices like food and tap water. Particular emphasis on the role of sample preparation will be discussed and why, sometimes, larger column dimensions are better, even in this age of consistently smaller and smaller technologies.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the differences required when analyzing water versus food for acrylamide

  • Learn successful techniques for the analysis of samples for acrylamide

  • Discuss the how sample preparation techniques can impact this analysis

Speaker: Dr. Landon Wiest, Application Scientist, Restek

Time and Date: Thursday, Jun. 11, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Sponsor: Restek

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/innovative_approaches