ChromSoc Advances in Gas Chromatography: A Virtual Symposium

, , , ,

Webcasts

Wednesday, September 22, 2021 at 12pm BST | 1pm CEST | 7am EDT So you thought GC was a mature technique? Join our global GC experts to find out why this is not true!

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/gc_sym

Event Overview:

Do you think GC is a “mature” technique? There is a general perception that gas chromatography (GC) and the various forms of detection that are used with this technique have developed to the point where it is now a “mature” technology, but GC practitioners know that there are many new challenges to face and that new solutions are required to overcome longstanding issues.

This virtual symposium, organized by the Chromatographic Society (ChromSoc) and LCGC, will focus on areas of GC where the sample complexity, the requirements for highly accurate measurements, the sensitivity requirements imposed by regulators, and the need to push scientific discovery force GC users to look with fresh eyes on this supposedly “mature” technique. The highly respected international speakers will bring a fresh perspective on almost every aspect of GC in the vapour phase and the virtual symposium will maintain the high reputation that this bi-annual meeting has established over many years.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Modern approaches to achieving ultratrace detection limits in GC and GC–MS are revealed
  • The use of GC and GCxGC with high-resolution MS for complex sample screening will be discussed
  • Learn about advanced techniques for sample preparation and enrichment for qualitative and quantitative analysis

Who Should Attend:

  • Anyone working with GC who wants to understand the very latest approaches to achieving ultratrace analyte quantitation, sample preparation, and enrichment for complex matrices and reducing error in quantitative GC analysis.

Agenda:

12pm BST = 7am EDT
Symposium Introduction

Tony Taylor, Arch Sciences Group, UK

12:30pm BST = 7:30am EDT
High Resolution GC–MS and GC×GC–MS with Advanced Data Processing for Investigative Compositional Analysis

Hans-Gerd Janssen, Unilever and Wageningen University, The Netherlands

1:10pm BST = 8:10am EDT
Technology Session 1
Hydrogen Carrier Gas for Fast GC: Choosing the right setup for your GC

Ed Connor, Product Manager, PEAK Scientific

1:25pm BST = 8:25am EDT
Derivatization and Traceable Quantification—A Match Made in Hell?

Chris Hopley, LGC's National Measurement Laboratory, UK

2:05pm BST = 9:05am EDT
Technology Session 2
Low-Pressure Gas Chromatography (LPGC)–The Fast Way to Your Pesticide Analysis

Dr. Jana Hepner, Applications Scientist, Restek

2.20pm BST = 9:20am EDT
Meeting the Analytical Challenges of Environmental Monitoring for the Water Framework Directive: Quantifying a Drop (or Two) in the Ocean

John Quick, ASL Environmental, UK

3pm BST = 10am EDT
Technology Session 3
VICI Fast Temperature Programmer Methods and Applications

Dale Ashworth, Product Manager Analytical Systems, VICI

3:15pm BST = 10:15am EDT
Is the E&L Community Ready to Move Away from Conventional Large Volume Liquid–Liquid Extraction and Solvent Evaporation?

Mike Hodgson, Baxter, UK

3:55pm BST = 10:55am EDT
Technology Session 4
Raise the Bar of Trace Analysis: Simultaneous high quality target and non-target data are within reach

Liz Humston-Fulmer, Application Chemist, LECO Corporation

4:10pm EDT = 11:10am EDT
Combining Automated Green and Exhaustive Enrichment Techniques with 1D GC–TOF–MS for Untargeted Aroma Profiling of Food/Beverages and Consumer Products in QA/QC Industrial Laboratories

Tatiana Cucu, Research Institute of Chromatography

4:50pm BST = 11:50am EDT
Technology Session 5

5:05pm BST = 12:05pm EDT
Technology Session 6

5:20pm BST = 12:20pm EDT
Panel Discussion

Speakers

Tony Taylor
Chief Scientific Officer
Arch Sciences Group and CHROMacademy, UK

Tony Taylor is the Chief Scientific Officer of Arch Sciences Group and the Technical Director of CHROMacademy. His background is in pharmaceutical R&D and polymer chemistry, but he has spent the past 24 years in training and consulting, working with Arch Sciences Group clients to ensure they attain the very best analytical science possible. He has trained and consulted with thousands of analytical chemists globally and is passionate about professional development in separation science, developing CHROMacademy as a means to provide high-quality online education to analytical chemists. His current research interests include HPLC column selectivity codification, advanced automated sample preparation, and LC–MS and GC–MS for materials characterization, especially in the field of extractables and leachables analysis.

Hans-Gerd Janssen
Senior Scientist and Professor
Unilever and Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Prof. Hans-Gerd Janssen has an M.Sc. and Ph.D. degree in analytical chemistry from the Eindhoven University where he studied and later worked in the group of Prof. Carel Cramers. After having worked at Eindhoven University for almost 10 years as assistant and associate professor, he joined Unilever in 1999. Prof. Janssen has produced more than 200 publications on theory and method development in chromatography and mass spectrometry. From 2004 to 2019 he was a part-time professor at Amsterdam University, concurrently with his position as a senior scientist in analytical chemistry, focusing on food analysis at Unilever R&D Wageningen. In 2019, he accepted a part-time professorship at Wageningen University, where his research focuses on recognition-based analytical chemistry. His key area of attention is the use of chromatography and mass spectrometry in research to reduce food waste and improve the sustainability of food production. Prof. Janssen holds positions on the editorial advisory boards of several journals and has served in various scientific and organizing committees for international conferences.

Ed Connor
Product Manager
PEAK Scientific


Ed Connor joined PEAK Scientific in February 2013 as a GC product specialist and now functions as a Product Manager. He has been working on a number of collaborative projects with PEAK customers and the major instrument manufacturers worldwide. The main focus of these collaborations has been to look at conversion from helium to hydrogen or nitrogen carrier gas for GC applications but he has also worked on ELSD nitrogen gas solutions and nitrogen generators for LC-MS instruments.

Prior to joining PEAK, Ed completed his Dr.Sc. at ETH Zurich in 2007 using GC-MS to look at herbivore induced plant volatiles and their interaction with beneficial insects. He then joined the University of Zurich where his work focussed primarily on floral volatile analysis using a variety of volatile collection methods, GC-MS and GC-FID.

Chris Hopley
Team Leader and Principal Scientist
LGC’s National Measurement Laboratory, UK

Christopher Hopley is the principal scientist in mass spectrometry at LGC’s National Measurement Laboratory. Chris has over 20 years’ mass spectrometry research experience, with a particular focus on instrumental performance for both qualitative and quantitative applications, mostly for small molecule applications. He has published 27 papers and has around 300 citations. Chris works on both clinical and forensic applications of mass spectrometry, with a key focus on measurement traceable to the SI system of units to underpin the UK National Measurement Infrastructure.

Dr. Jana Hepner
Applications Scientist
Restek

Jana Hepner, PhD, is an application scientist in Restek’s innovations laboratory. Her primary research focus is the development of solutions in food analysis for GC–MS and GC–MS/MS. Jana has over 10 years of experience with method development both gas and liquid chromatography. Prior to joining Restek, she received her PhD in analytical chemistry from the University of North Dakota and MS degree at the University of Chemical Technology in Prague.

John Quick
Principal Chemist
ASL Environmental, UK

John Quick has been working as an analytical chemist in the water and environmental sector for 30 years. He has previously worked for Thames Water, the Environment Agency, and Severn Trent Laboratories. He has specialist knowledge of the analysis of environmental samples for trace-level organic pollutants using modern analytical techniques, and recently led development of a series of methods for the ultra-low level detection (sub ng/L) of organic pollutants in surface waters and sewage samples to meet the requirements of the UK Chemical Investigation Programme (CIP) and the EU Water Framework Directive (WFD). He is currently working on the miniaturization and automation of analytical methodologies using robotic techniques.

Dale Ashworth
Product Manager Analytical Systems
VICI

Dale Ashworth has enjoyed all things mechanical and electrical since an early age. After emerging from the University of Houston’s College of Technology, he further explored his interest in the sciences at Valco Instruments Co, and over the years has worked with reactive chemistry and the use of GC, MS, IR, and more. In addition to his work, Dale is devoted to his family and serving his community.

Mike Hodgson
Senior Manager
Baxter, UK

Mike Hodgson graduated from the University of Nottingham (UK) with a Ph.D. in flavour and aroma science in 2004. The sample preparation and trace analysis experience gained during his time analyzing and modelling the real-time release and delivery of common flavour substances facilitated the transition into pharma, and specifically the area of extractables and leachables. Over the past 17 years, Mike has held roles of increasing responsibility within GSK, Pfizer, and most recently Baxter, where he is a senior manager and accountable for defining and executing the regulatory strategy that mitigates the risk of patient exposure to leachables for a variety of product types, including inhalation (DPIs and MDIs), parenteral (LVP, PFS, and lyophilized formulations), biopharmaceutical (manufacturing processes, primary container closure, and administration), and cell and gene therapy products. In his current role, Mike is accountable for driving strategic and technical initiatives across Baxter’s Global Business Units (GBUs; Pharma, Renal, Acute Therapies, Clinical Nutrition, Advanced Surgery, and Medication Delivery) whilst directly influencing the strategy for the pharmaceutical R&D portfolio. Areas of technical interest include coupling microextraction and enrichment techniques to high-end chromatographic and mass spectrometry instrumentation in a highly automated fashion to drive improvements in Baxter’s analytical methods.

Liz Humston-Fulmer
Application Chemist
LECO Corporation

Liz Humston-Fulmer received her B.S. in chemistry from the University of Pittsburgh and her Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from the University of Washington. She currently works at LECO Corporation and uses GC-TOFMS and GC×GC-TOFMS for a variety of food and beverage analyses.

Tatiana Cucu
Senior Scientist
Research Institute of Chromatography

Tatiana Cucu received her Ph.D. degree in the field of food safety and food quality in 2011 at the University of Ghent, Belgium. During her PhD and later during her postdoc, she developed analytical methods for the analysis of food allergens and food additives. In 2005 she joined the Research Institute for Chromatography (RIC) as senior scientist where she is involved in projects related to development and optimization of GC–MS and GC–MS/MS methods, miniaturization and automatization of sample preparation methods, and the development of new applications for the food, environmental, pharmaceutical, and chemical industries.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/gc_sym