Complete Workflow Solutions for Analyzing Complex Food Samples Using SPME

March 17, 2020
MilliporeSigma, the life science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany

Sponsored Content

How can you easily improve sensitivity of your LC–MS setup? Discover this and more in the upcoming webcast. Live: Tuesday, Mar. 17, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET On demand available after final airing Mar. 17, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/complex

Event Overview:

The complexity of food matrices often requires tedious and time-consuming sample preparation strategies that often are a source of a significant amount of laboratory waste. The development of a new matrix-compatible solid-phase microextraction (SPME) coating, namely PDMS/DVB/PDMS, bearing enhanced antifouling properties, enabled the analysis of complex food matrices by direct immersion SPME (DI-SPME) and helped to overcome issues related to extensive sample pre-treatment and instrumental contamination. This webcast will focus on recent advances made toward the analysis of contaminants in complex food samples by using the new matrix-compatible SPME coating and will describe the optimization of important parameters to be considered when performing DI-SPME.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Challenges related to analysis of food by SPME (headspace versus direct immersion sampling)

  • Design and performance of the matrix-compatible SPME coating, PDMS/DVB/PDMS

  • Optimization of  pre-desorption rinsing and post desorption washing of the SPME coating 

  • Matrix modifications to be applied to different types of food matrices 

Speaker: Dr. Emanuela Gionfriddo, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The University of Toledo

Time and Date: Tuesday, Mar. 17, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET

On demand available after airing until Mar. 17, 2021.

Sponsor: MilliporeSigma, the life science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/complex