Denisov, Johnson, and Woods Receive 2023 Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Awards

Denisov, Johnson, and Woods Receive 2023 Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Awards

Published on: 

The Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Scientist Awards, sponsored by the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS), were named in memory of Al Yergey, a well-respected scientist and dedicated mentor. The award recognizes “unsung heroes” who have been dedicated to or contributed significantly to mass spectrometry–based science, with winners receiving recognition at the ASMS annual conference. This year, there are three award recipients set to be recognized: Eduard Denisov of Thermo Fisher Scientific, Jodie Johnson of the University of Florida, and Amina Woods of the National Institute of Drug Abuse Intramural Research Program at the National Institutes of Health.

Over the past two decades, Denisov’s work helped Orbitrap mass spectrometry become a leading technique in high resolution mass spectrometry. Denisov had a key role in the experimental development of the technology. Denisov remained a passionate enthusiast of Orbitrap, dedicating time to optimizing the technology’s results for end users.


Johnson has been a valuable asset to the MS community through his work with MS Research and Education Center (MSREC) at the University of Florida and his interaction with the broader community. He loves sharing his knowledge of chromatography and mass spectrometry with anyone, regardless of their experience. Combined with his adoration for research discussion, Johnson has always focused on educating and mentoring others.

Woods, with her years of research, service, and teaching in all sorts of venues, has made numerous contributions to MS-based science. Biological mass spectrometry became integral to her research in the 1990s, where she and the late Bob Cotter used plasma desorption MS to characterize biological molecules. Since then, she has embraced mass spectrometry as the center of most of her research portfolio, with participation in many MS organizations, including ASMS.

Each awardee will receive a recognition plaque and a $1000 cash award. The Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Scientist Awards will be given out during the 2023 ASMS Annual Conference, which will be held in Houston, Texas, from June 4­ to 8.