Elyssia Gallagher and Coauthors Named Recipients of the 2022 Ron Hites Award


Elyssia Gallagher, an assistant professor at Baylor University, along with her coauthors O. Tara Liyanage, Ana V. Quintero, and Jacob B. Hatvany, are the 2022 recipients of the ASMS Ron Hites Award. Gallagher will receive the award at the 2022 ASMS Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota, which takes place June 5–9. She will receive the award and be recognized on June 8 at 4:45 pm CST.

Elyssia Gallagher of Baylor University

Elyssia Gallagher of Baylor University

The Ron Hites Award recognizes annually an exemplary paper published in the previous two volumes of the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (JASMS). The award recognizes a high-quality presentation of outstanding original research. The award is named in honor of Professor Ron Hites of Indiana University, who led the creation of JASMS in 1988 while serving as president of ASMS.

The winning manuscript was selected by a confidential committee. The selection of the winning article was based on the committee's judgement of each paper’s innovative aspects, technical quality, likely stimulation of future research, likely impact on future applications, and quality of presentation. Manuscript citations and impact factor were also considered but were not the major determinants of selection. Gallagher will receive a cash award of $2,000 and all authors will be acknowledged with certificates of commendation.

The paper, titled “Distinguishing Carbohydrate Isomers with Rapid Hydrogen/Deuterium Exchange-Mass Spectrometry,” explored how in-electrospray-hydrogen/deuterium exchange–mass spectrometry (in-ESI HDX-MS) could be used to characterize the structures of carbohydrates, particularly how monitoring HDX at multiple time points allows for three trisaccharide isomers (melezitose, isomaltotriose, and maltotriose) to be distinguished (1).

You can read the award-winning paper here: https://pubs.acs.org/doi/10.1021/jasms.0c00314


(1) O.T. Liyanage, A.V. Quintero, J.B. Hatvany, and E.S. Gallagher, J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom. 32(1), 152–156 (2021).

Related Videos
Toby Astill | Image Credit: © Thermo Fisher Scientific
Related Content