Martin and Jubilee Medals


The presentation of the Martin and Jubilee Medals will take place Monday, June 20, at 7 pm at the Opening Plenary Session in the Golden Gate Ballroom, floor B2 level.

The presentation of the Martin and Jubilee Medals will take place Monday, June 20, at 7 pm at the Opening Plenary Session in the Golden Gate Ballroom, floor B2 level. 

This year, the Martin Medal has two winners: Dr. Ian Wilson, a professor on the Faculty of Medicine in the Department of Surgery and Cancer at Imperial College; and Dr. Peter Myers, a visiting professor at the University of Liverpool.

Dr. Wilson holds the Chair in Drug Metabolism and Molecular Toxicology at Imperial College. He trained as a biochemist at the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology and went on to earn his PhD at Keele University. His work in the pharmaceutical industry includes a position as Senior Principal Scientist in the Department of Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics at the AstraZeneca Research site at Alderley Park in Cheshire (UK). He joined the Imperial College in 2012. The author, or co-author of 480 papers or reviews, he has received awards in separation and analytical science from the Royal Society of Chemistry, including the Gold Medal of the Analytical Division in 2005, and the Knox Medal of the RSC Separation Science Group in 2012. In 1994, Dr. Wilson received the Jubilee Medal of the Chromatographic Society, and he gave the inaugural Desty Memorial lecture for Innovation in Separation Science in 1996. His research focuses on the development of hyphenated techniques in chromatography and their application to problems in drug metabolism, toxicology, and metabolomics.

Dr. Myers received his B.S. in Pure Chemistry and his PhD in Math, Physics, and Chemistry, from the University of Salford. He worked at Unilever before joining a small company called Phase Separations. Advancing to the position of Technical Director, he was responsible for the development of the Sol-Gel process for the manufacture of spherical ceramics for use in a wide range of controllable pore sizes, pore volumes, and surface areas. He also developed bonded phases for these ceramics, including hydrophobic, hydrophilic, chiral, strong cation, and anion exchanges to the new polymer-coated materials offering high pH stability. His initiation of the Desty Memorial Lectures for Innovation in Separation Science, honoring his mentor Denis Desty, is one of his great legacies. Among Dr. Myers’ accolades are a Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Thomas-Johnston Memorial Prize, the University of Messina Separation of the Royal Institution of Great Britain, and the Chromatographic Society’s Jubilee Medal in 2006. In 2007, he accepted a sponsored chair at the University of Liverpool, where he leads a chromatography group that is recognized as one of the UK’s leading fundamental chromatography research groups. He is working toward establishing a strong center of excellence for chromatography and related disciplines within the Department of Chemistry.

The Martin Medal is named after Professor A.J. P. Martin who, in 1978, gave permission for his name to be associated with the award. It is the highest honor the Chromatographic Society confers and is awarded to scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of separation science.

The Jubilee Medal also has two winners this year: Dr. Emily Hilder, a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Tasmania; and Dr. Derek Stevenson, an active member of the Chromatographic Society for many decades, and head of the Robens Analytical Unit/Center.

Dr. Hilder received her Bsc and PhD from the University of Tasmania. She performed postdoctoral work at the Johannes Kepler University in Austria, the Lawrence Berkley National Laboratories, the University of California, Berkeley, and the University of Tasmania, where, in 2008, she became a Senior Lecturer. In 2011, she was promoted to Professor of Chemistry. She also holds a position as the Director of the Australian Research Council Training Center for Portable Analytical Separation Technologies at the University of Tasmania. Dr. Hilder’s research focuses on synthesis and design of polymeric monolithic capillary phase for LC and CEC for small and large molecules, as well as electrophoretic separations. She has been published in more than 100 peer-reviewed journals, holds three patents, and has presented more than 100 times at national and international scientific meetings. The LCGC North America Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award was presented to Dr. Hilder in 2012.

Dr. Stevenson started his career at Fisons Agrochemical in 1970, worked at Shell Research in 1974, and then started his research career at the Westminster Medical School. He received his PhD from the University of Surrey, where he became a Senior Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry, Director of Biochemistry Programs, and later served as the head of Robens’ Analytical Unit. A fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and a Fellow of the Chromatographic Society, Dr. Stevenson was awarded the Analytical Separations Medal in 2007 for his research in sample preparation, immunoaffinity extraction, chiral separations, and drug bioanalysis. He has developed simplified methods for occupational and environmental monitoring of trace organics and has investigated the miniaturization of separation science. In addition to his expertise in separation science, Dr. Stevenson has also investigated the selectivity in sample preparation using immobilized antibodies and molecular imprinted polymers, as well as the development and validation of immune sensors.

The Jubilee Medal was established in 1982 to mark the 25th anniversary of the society, and has a prestigious history of separation scientists associated with it. The medal is awarded to up-and-coming separation scientists who have made major use of separation science in their own field, or to scientists who have made meritorious contributions to a particular area of separation science.

Related Videos
Robert Kennedy
John McLean | Image Credit: © Aaron Acevedo
Related Content