Michael T. Marty to Receive Ron Hites Award at ASMS


The annual Ron Hites Award recognizes an exemplary paper published in the previous two volumes of the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (JASMS). The award honors a high-quality presentation of outstanding original research. It is named in honor of Professor Ron Hites of Indiana University, who led the creation of JASMS in 1988 while serving as president of ASMS.

This year, Michael T. Marty and co-authors Marius M. Kostelic, Alex M. Ryan, Deseree J. Reid, and Jibriel M. Noun will receive the award at the ASMS conference taking place from October 31–November 4 in Philadelphia. Their paper, “Expanding the Types of Lipids Amenable to Native Mass Spectrometry of Lipoprotein Complexes,” was published in JASMS in 2019.

Michael T. Marty

Michael T. Marty

Marty is an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Arizona (Tucson, Arizona). He completed his PhD in chemistry as a Springborn Fellow at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in 2013 followed by postdoctoral research at the University of Oxford (Oxford, England) until joining the faculty in 2016. He has been awarded the ASMS Research Award, the Bisgrove Scholar Award, and the NIH MIRA award. His research applies lipoprotein nanodiscs with mass spectrometry to study membrane proteins, antimicrobial peptides, and their interactions with lipid bilayers.

Related Videos
Toby Astill | Image Credit: © Thermo Fisher Scientific