Improving Speed and Resolution of Dixon and PCB Analysis of Environmental and Food Samples

Webcast

Monday, June 21, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/pcbs

Event Overview:

Dioxins, furans and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) are structurally similar compounds that are classified as persistent organic pollutants (POPs) because they have a stable structure and can remain in the environment persistently. In addition to being present in the environment, these pollutants can also enter the food chain; thus there is a need for monitoring these toxic compounds both in environmental as well as food samples. Methods and documents issued by a variety of regulatory agencies, such as EPA 1613, EPA1668, EPA 8290, EN-1948-1, EN-1948-2, JSA JIS K 0311:2005, EPA 610, and EFSA documents, provide guidance on the separation of these analytes. However, the traditional 5% phenyl phase commonly used for this type of analysis doesn’t provide adequate separation of critical pairs within a single run on a single column.

In this webcast, we will explore several ways that will definitely improve the analysis and resolution of dioxins, furans, and PCBs . We will explore applications that demonstrate:

  • Increased resolution of tetra dioxins and furans on a single column, a solution that lends itself to potential huge gains in productivity and method speed.
  • Increased productivity with PCBs and dioxins by using a a single GC column
  • Up to 70% faster dioxin analysis, with excellent critical pair resolution
  • Extending column lifetime with a GC guard column solution

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn how a single GC column solution can improve resolution of tetra dioxins and tetrafurans
  • Learn how to optimize dioxin and PCB separation
  • Learn to optimize PCB and dioxin GC analysis and make the separation up to 50% faster
  • Tips and tricks extending the lifetime of GC dioxin columns

Speakers:

Ramkumar Dhandapani, PhD
Global Product Manager, Gas Chromatography
Phenomenex

Agustin Pierri, Ph.D.
Weck Laboratories

Times and Dates:
Monday, June 21, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Sponsor: Phenomenex

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/pcbs