Maximizing Throughput and Metabolome Coverage with Dual Separation LC-MS for Improved Bioprocessing Outcomes

Sponsored Content

Metabolomics provides valuable phenotypical insight into cell culture bioprocesses. Combining reversed-phase (RP) and HILIC separation in one integrated LC system increases metabolome coverage, improves efficiency, and reduces analysis time of cell media. Live: Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing Oct. 23, 2020 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/dual_separation

Event Overview:
Media and feed development for commercial biopharmaceutical production has been largely accomplished via empirical screening, and thus the understanding of CHO cell metabolism, as it relates to product titer and quality, remains limited. To better understand the metabolic events that affect cell biomass and antibody titer, we designed a metabolomics workflow to confidently measure critical nutrients while allowing for the discovery of previously unidentified metabolites that affect growth and antibody yield.

In this webcast, we describe the development and implementation of a high-throughput analytical platform, comprised of a dual liquid chromatography–mass spectrometry (LC–MS) system that combines reversed-phase (RP) and hydrophilic interaction liquid chromatography (HILIC) separation for the detection of hydrophobic and polar metabolites from the same sample, while increasing throughput by more than 30%.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn how comprehensive metabolomics analyses can be applied in cell culture bioprocessing

  • Find out how to combine complementary separations in one analysis to increase metabolome coverage and reduce analysis time for untargeted studies for discovery research

  • Discover why large-scale experiments demand efficient and robust analytical approaches with maximum throughput

Speaker: Dr. Ioanna Ntai, Strategic Marketing Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Time and Date: Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Oct. 23, 2020

Sponsor: Thermo Fisher Scientific

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/dual_separation