Poly- and Perfluoroalkyl Substances in Water: Challenges and Mitigating Strategies in Detection and Treatment

Sponsored Content

Overcome challenges in analysis of PFAS and mitigation using existing and novel water treatment technologies for the removal of PFAS. Arjun Venkatesan, Associate Director, Center for Clean Water Technology, Stony Brook University discusses the ongoing PFAS research of a certified PFAS testing facility to support statewide monitoring. Live: Europe: Thursday, Mar. 5, 2020 at 2pm GMT | 3pm CET US: Thursday, Mar. 5, 2020 at 1pm EST | 12pm CST | 10am PST Asia Pacific: Friday, Mar. 6, 2020 at 9:30am IST | 12pm CST | 1pm JST On demand available after final airing until Mar. 5, 2021 Register free

Register freehttp://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/mitigating_strategies

Event Overview:

Poly- and perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a large group of anthropogenic substances that have been extensively used for over 60 years. These compounds can resist heat, oil, and water, and hence have been used as coatings in non-stick cookware, carpets, clothing, furnishing, paper as well as stain repellants and in fire-fighting foams. Due to their widespread use and resulting emissions, PFAS have been detected in surface water, groundwater, fish, birds, mammals, and humans worldwide. PFAS are highly persistent and resistant to degradation and have been associated with reproductive toxicity, reduced growth metrics in newborns and elevated cholesterol levels in humans. Currently, there are no federal regulations for PFAS in drinking water and as a result many U.S. states have their own regulation or health advisory levels. Conventional water treatment techniques such as coagulation, flocculation and sedimentation have shown to be ineffective in removing these substances. Our research at the New York State (NYS) Center for Clean Water Technology (CCWT) focuses on evaluating existing and novel water treatment technologies for the removal of PFAS from contaminated groundwater. We additionally feature a certified PFAS testing facility to support statewide monitoring of PFAS in contaminated groundwater and drinking water.

In this webcast, this presentation will (i) provide a brief introduction to PFAS and concerns associated with PFAS, (ii) discuss challenges in the detection and quantification of PFAS in water, (iv) discuss challenges in the treatment of PFAS, and (v) provide a summary of ongoing PFAS research in NYS CCWT and certification requirements.

Key Learning Objectives:

What are PFAS and what are they used for?

How do we get exposed to PFAS?

What are the challenges in the detection and quantification of PFAS in water?

What are the existing treatment approaches to remove PFAS?

What are some novel treatment techniques to decompose PFAS?

Speakers: Dr. Arjun Venkatesan, Associate Director, Center for Clean Water Technology, Stony Brook University

Tarun Anumol, Ph.D., Director for Global Environment and Food Markets, Agilent Technologies

Time and Date: Europe: Thursday, Mar. 5, 2020 at 2pm GMT | 3pm CET

US: Thursday, Mar. 5, 2020 at 1pm EST | 12pm CST | 10am PST

Asia Pacific: Friday, Mar. 6, 2020 at 9:30am IST | 12pm CST | 1pm JST

On demand available after final airing until Mar. 5, 2021

Sponsor: Agilent Technologies

Register freehttp://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/mitigating_strategies